How Do You Connect with Your Cards?

I am working on creating a set of workbooks to help people connect with their tarot decks. They will include simple, yet effective exercises on how to look at the cards and assign meanings to them.

What are ways that you connect with your cards to improve your readings?

Do you use any type of journal to track your progress?

3 Likes

I used to try journalling, but I’m not good at sticking to it consistently for anything, so not a good tool for me. Instead, I tell stories with the cards. What is the picture? What’s happening? What are the emotions? What likely happened immediately before and what is likely to happen in the moments after? Who are the people, if any? Their relationships to each other and to the scene? Participant? Bystander?

I go through a new deck card by card, answering those questions. Keywords are great for the storytelling aspect. When creating the story, I’ll make a point of incorporating each keyword somewhere, to help connect them.

If using a themed deck, such as an Irish-based set, I have learned the mythology associated with each character. I’ve even incorporated the myths and stories into my readings for others, which has helped them to connect to what the cards are saying.

It’s part of my process anyway…

4 Likes

My favorite thing to do, is to take a card with my through the day and look at it often. The more I see that card in the world, the better connection I feel to it.

I’ll try and find a person that resembles it.

I use to journal a lot when I was newer. I use to write down the three cards I drew and just write whatever I saw. It was more stream of consciousness. My question was alway the same “what do I need to be aware of today?”

It was a good exercise in just being comfortable with the cards.

3 Likes

I’ve never used a journal. :sweat_smile: